Wago Card Failure

A

Andy

Hi everyone.

First of all, I'd like to thank all the Wago experts I have PMed regarding this subject and am now opening this to everyone. Hopefully I can get a solution.

I am quite new to PLC programming, my background is embbeded devices MMI modification. I have been tasked to program a Wago 750-841 ethernet controller connected to several I/O cards.

After 1 month of programming, something occured to me and my superior. When a Wago IO card fails, all the I/Os connected to the entire PLC go dead. This is not a very desireable outcome as the PLC controls Marine equipment, and reliability is a key concern.

Is there a way to allow the remaining IO cards to continue to function or is this norm for Wago PLCs?

Wago was selected for is modularity, compact size and marine certification.

If there is no workaround I may need to change PLCs. I do not wish to waste all the man hours invested so far.

Thanks a lot for the advice.

D

Davis Gentry

This is not a peculiarity of the Wago 750 series. This is true of ANY i/o or PLC. If the i/o controller (or PLC) dies, then the i/o dies. Period. When using any Fieldbus i/o, when the controller dies the i/o dies. Period. If you want to drop low enough then if a relay fails then the i/o on that relay fails. I have used the Wago Modbus TCP stuff in a number of projects and been very satisfied with it.

What happens when the controller (or any i/o) dies is your responsibility as the programmer. You should include in your error checking routine a confirmation that the i/o is working. If it is not, then you issue a fault and respond to that in whatever manner is suitable for your machine.

Davis Gentry Senior Applications Engineer Delta Tau Data Systems

J

James Ingraham

I have to disagree with Davis Gentry:
"If the i/o controller (or PLC) dies, then the i/o dies. Period."

Yes, that's accurate, but it wasn't the question:

"When a Wago IO card fails, all the I/Os connected to the entire PLC go dead."