Intouch 8.0 and SQL Query Problem

Z

Zorif

Hi InTouch Experts, I am in BIG trouble PLEASE HELP...

I have MS-SQL Server 2000 STD & In-SQL 8.0 installed in a server to be used as Plant Historian. And Wonderware InTouch 8.0 installed at many workstations from where I am using AlmDBViewer Control to display the historical data from the above said SQL Server. It was working fine for the last three years, currently it is showing the following error message while fetching the data:
Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server: Timeout expired.

What does this mean? Can abybody please help me in this matter?

I already changed the connection timeout value in the database properties popup.
I heard that there is a "Command Timeout" property for the database object. If it is there can anybody please tell me how to use it in InTouch.

I am in an urgent situtation, PLEASE HELP.

M

Michael Griffin

I'm not an Intouch expert, so I can't help you with any problems at that end. However, this message is a time-out error message from the MS SQL Server database. I think it is also connected with using the DB via ODBC. There are a variety of time-outs in the database, and I believe that some of them are hard coded and can't be changed.

It's hard to say what is causing this, as there are many potential causes. One problem can be that your queries are trying to pull up too much data at once. It could also be a problem with the indexes or some sort of data corruption.

Another problem is that Microsoft's database locking method was at one time very poor, meaning that when you had multiple clients accessing the same database there could be quite a lot of contention for the same records. I think they've fixed that, but I don't know in what version (the version you are using is I think a couple of versions old).