Governor Load Reference Setpoint Change

G

going_elekctric

Hey guys,

I am trying to understand a step in frequency control, which I just cannot figure out. Sorry my background is in chemical engineering, and I am just getting into power generation so my knowledge is very limited.

Here is my problem. So in an islanded power system running with one generator (300 MW with 5% droop, setpoint at 150 MW @ 60 Hz), an added load cause grid frequency to drop. Governor arrest frequency decline by ramping up steam flow to generator according to droop setting and "arrest" the frequency drop at 59.9 Hz.

At this point, according to the text I am reading, the governor need to return system to 60 Hz. To do that load reference setpoint is adjusted from 150 MW @ 60 Hz to 160 MW @ 60 Hz. And this will restore grid frequency?

My understanding is that governor monitors frequency and adjust steam throttle valve (MW) according to droop curve. If already operating at 160 MW @ 59.9 Hz, how can simply shifting load reference setpoint add back energy to the system (i suppose this was lost when load was added, due to lost rotational energy of the generator shaft) to cause frequency to rise. My current thinking says that frequency would simply stay at 59.9 Hz since governor would not apply more steam to the turbine because it's already at the throttle setting to output 160 MW.

I know this is wrong, so please help me understand.

Thanks!

Hey guy,

>Here is my problem. So in an islanded power system running
>with one generator (300 MW with 5% droop, setpoint at 150 MW
>@ 60 Hz), an added load cause grid frequency to drop.
>Governor arrest frequency decline by ramping up steam flow
>to generator according to droop setting and "arrest" the
>frequency drop at 59.9 Hz.
>
>At this point, according to the text I am reading, the
>governor need to return system to 60 Hz. To do that load
>reference setpoint is adjusted from 150 MW @ 60 Hz to 160 MW
>@ 60 Hz. And this will restore grid frequency?