Today is...
Friday, January 18, 2019
Welcome to Control.com, the global online
community of automation professionals.
Featured Video...
Featured Video
Wiring and programming your servos and I/O just got a lot easier...
Our Advertisers
Help keep our servers running...
Patronize our advertisers!
Visit our Post Archive
IBH Valve Operating Mode at Part Load
How does IBH valve works?
1 out of 1 members thought this post was helpful...

Hello everybody,

forgive my poor english, I'm an italian student and need of your help.
I'm not sure I understood working conditions of IBH valve.
Correct me if I'm wrong plz...

IBH valve allows a re-circulation of inlet air flow. This is bleeded from one of the last steps of compressor. So this hotter mass flow rate avoids ice formation and protects the compressor by stall.

Is it?

Now, I have a very HUGE doubt.
In addition to these functions, in CCGT power plant, IBH often is used to optimize operating modes at part load.

I understand that opening IBH valve increases air inlet temperature, so the temperature of flue gases exiting gas turbine raises as well as HP steam generation rate in HRSG.

But how is it possible?

Indeed I think that if the air inlet temperature raises, its mass flow rate decreases and at the same way exhaust gas flow decreases. Can higher temperature of flue gases leads to increase HP stream generation although exhaust gas flow decreases?

I hope I make myself clear enough.
Thx for reading...

If you can, suggest me some reference about IBH operating mode at partial load.

1 out of 1 members thought this post was helpful...

fhabbio,