Modbus Configuration: Registers Table

K

KLamar

I do not have experience with programming, so I may be way off with this (and the grammar). Please give me advice and/or articles I can read to help me better understand this topic. Also, can you explain and/or provide me with information on the differences between the parameters: shorts, floats, longs, bytes, binary, and doubles?

The device is reading incorrectly with the current setup.

The byte order in the monitor is defaulted as BADC, but may be changed. I am using 32 bit floating points and shorts as my parameters. The main thing I am trying to read is an output value for the level of odorant.

We were advised to use the conversion code 67 for the floating points, but I'm not sure if that is right.

I can provide more information as needed. Thank you.

KLAMAR,

there is so much Modbus information, that it is tough to learn all there is about the subject over a blog. I am by no means an expert, but I have worked with it for many years.

First question is what systems are talking together via Modbus? each vendor has their own quirks with Modbus.

A few quick things on Modbus. You are correct in asking about the different parameters. Each Modbus register (or location) represents 16 bits or 2 bytes. the register can be divided up into 16 sections. For example: you can count from location 30001.0 to 30001.15. so you can pack 16 Booleans on 1 register location. Shorts should be 1 byte = 1 register. Longs should be 2 bytes = 2 register. Floats should be 2 bytes = 2 registers. (Note: fact check me on the length of those).

Another thing to note. There are 4 categories of Modbus communication. Each with their own range of addresses.
00001-09999 - Input coils (this is read only Booleans. each address is a different Boolean. you can't have 08572.15)
10001-19999 - Holding Coils (this is read & Write Booleans. each address is a different Boolean. you can't have 18342.15)