Windows NT, CLI and STI (NT and real-time)

A

Antoine PERRIN

(Originally posted Tue 05/26/1998)
Here is the situation:
I am currently studying hard-real time extensions for Windows NT. One of the problem of NT with real-time is that the system uses CLI/STI (CLear Interrupt/SeT Interrupt). In principle, these operations are used only in the HAL and in the drivers... Theorically, by rewriting the HAL and choosing well-written drivers (hard stuff?) you can expect good performances from NT...
Here is my question:
But somebody say me that the kernel itself use hard-coded CLI/STI. As the kernel cannot be modified, this definitively prevent hard real-time under NT.
Can anybody confirm or invalidate this affirmation?
Antoine PERRIN
CJ-international

M
(Originally posted Wed 05/27/1998)
Why does the existence of sections of non-interruptible code prevent “real time” operation, assuming of course that those pieces of code are small and deterministic?

Mike Granby
Paradigm Controls Limited
http://www.paracon.demon.co.uk

Mike, your question is a good one. Of course interrupt response code must be small and deterministic. One of the primary problems in our definition of “hard” vs. “soft” real-time is not the architecture of Windows NT. It can only do so much with the 4 hardware levels built into the Intel x86 architecture. The compromise is that all device interrupts are handled at the same hardware level with tight small code to note the system clock at the time of the interrupt, queue a task for processing and to branch out of interrupt mode. I think Microsoft does the best it can with the kernel and HAL routines as it can with the Intel architecture. Anyone that builds on the HAL must keep the idea in mind that processing interrupts should be done in the same way that MS does it - quickly and queue a task for later execution at the background interrupt level.
Dick Caro
Richard H. Caro, Vice President
Automation Research Corporation