Siemens vs. Allen Bradley

T

Tiara Becerra

Hello. I'm a Process Engineering student and I'm looking for the different advantages of Siemens vs. Allen Bradley PLCs and also SCADA Software from Siemens (WinCC) vs. RSViewSE (Rockwell). Maybe somebody with experience can help me?

Thank you very much,

Tiara Becerra

P
Hello,

the biggest Siemens advantage of the Siemens Simatic PLCs (against Allen-Bradley) is the flexible/modular conception of the SW system. You can devide your task into many different blocks, you can progam blocks with interface (for example: let have a few motors connected the same way to the PLC, you have to program just one block for the "motor" to start/stop it, to evaluate different states... and then you call this block more times and change the interface of the block call). With Siemens you can make the program block changes and download these changes into PLC without need to stop the PLC. Siemens offers more programing techniques (STL, FBD, LAD, SCL /Pascal like/, SFC /graphical programing/, CFC /graphical programing/).
For more specific question you can conntact me directly.
[email protected]

By,
Pavel Horak

Tiara

You will just open a can of worms with a question like this. Everyone will tell you their favourite. Essentially they will do the same thing in much the same way. You are best to look at more pragmatic things such as the knowlege base in the local area for programming and support/spares availability, existing systems on a site and the site's staff skills and experience.

J

Jake Brodsky

We use AB and Siemens PLC lines here. They are comparable products. The difference is largely what native protocols they support. Siemens tends to support the European protocols: Profibus, ASI, and so forth. AB tends to support North American protocols natively such as ControlNet, DeviceNet, and EthernetIP. I should note that both can interface with the other's networks and both of them use published and open standards.