AB CompactLogix, Kinetix, PanelViewPlus on Ethernet

R

Robert Toth

Hi,
I am in the process of rebuilding and retrofitting an old ran down and broken machine.

The old relay logic and gear-train will be replaced with AB ControlLogix and a Kinetix 300 and a PanelViewPlus. These components will be Ethernet connected. Still working on the mechanicals and the wiring. I have some experience with Ultra 5000 drive programming in c, but I am totally new to program motion in ladder on a CompactLogix for Kinetix. I have RSLogix 5000 mini edition to do the job. I've already downloaded and installed the add-on modules for Kinetix 300. I was gonna looking up some motion ladder samples for Kinetix, to run on CompactLogix. I was surprised (not really) to figure it out, I've got nothing related.

I am not asking any one to do my job, but if some of you came across something, or have done it, I would really appreciate a sample of logic. Something like the c source code comes with the Ultra 5000 drives. The machine is quiet far away from being able to power up yet, but, just out of curiosity I started a little off-line programming for the motion, and I can see that, it will not be a smooth ride.

Thanx,
Rob

S
CLX was pitched as a general-purpose platform that specialized in motion. Maybe I didn't do involved enough stuff to see the benefit, but I never found anything you could do with it you couldn't do in a SLC with a servo card.

I didn't get a tingle running up my leg that the NAMES of the motion instructions were motion-specific (MAM, MAS, MAH, and so on as opposed to just MOVing some data to an address in the servo card's image).