Can we use LCI without turning gear ?

Hi,

In case of a GT turning gear failure, if the shaft reach 0 speed,
is the LCI able to launch the shaft from 0 speed ?

I'm reviewing the controlers logic (gas turbine and LCI) and didn't found some kind of minimal speed permit for the LCI to receive the run order

thanks in advance

I'm not an LCI expert by any stretch of anyone's imagination (not even mine...).

When you initiate a START from zero speed (because you CAN initiate a START from zero speed, though most people think it's not possible), does the turning gear start the shaft turning? Does the LCI send a command to the exciter to apply a field to the generator rotor? In some cases (I think many cases) the LCI needs to see a rotating magnetic field (generator rotor rotating in the proper direction) to lock into and then begin accelerating the machine from turning gear speed for purging, firing and acceleration to near FSNL.

If the above happens when a START is initiated from zero speed, then it's most likely the LCI needs to see a rotating magnetic field (of the generator rotor) to lock into and begin applying current to the generator stator. That would say that the turning gear is most likely required for a START from zero speed.

I don't know if it's a shaft speed permissive as much as it's something the LCI requires in order to "synchronize" itself to the rotation of the generator rotor.

That's been my experience on the F-class machines I've worked on--though I tried to avoid F-class machines whenever possible. Too many things changed too often, and the F in F-class stands for "femme"--as in HMW (High Maintenance Woman). They are beautiful, touchy, and expensive, and don't like to experience any abuse, but don't mind dishing some out once in a while.... for not good reason.