Dual BLDC Control using AVR

R

Raag90

Hey there,

I am a final year student in Electronic Engineering, and my project involves the control of two Independence but similar Brushless DC Motors (with one microcontroller, preferably an AVR Atmega). I was planning on using the hall sensors for each motor as an input to the micro and then determining switch pulses corresponding to the motors independently. Has anyone here had any experience in doing such a thing? I was also keen on implementing a PI controller for the scheme, but am having trouble knowing exactly how I would do so.

Help and comments much appreciated.

Cheers

Hi,

Probably the trickiest part of working with multiple BLDC motors is making sure that they have independent commutation/feedback sensors as well as independent power stages/amplifiers. This will allow you to control the commutation and position/velocity of the motors independently. Not sure what the AVR interface is, but if it can handle these requirements then you are off to a good start.

Problems come when the same commutation/feedback sensors and power stage/amplifier are used for multiple BLDC motors. The only way this has a chance of working is if the motors are mechanically coupled.

B

Bruce Durdle

I have dabbled with this, using a Microchip PIC to control the drive for a Smartdrive washing machine motor.

The problem you have is that you need to vary the voltage seen by the motor as well as control the pulse sequence rate. I am using PWM to adjust the speed, with the correct drive signals being fed to the motor control FETS for a small % of the time for low speed, and a much higher % for high speeds. For the balance of the time, all outputs are OFF.

You can also drive the motor without the sensors as a synchronous machine but again you will have the same trouble.

It would probably be a good idea to get one going, then see how you can adapt that solution for two motors.