Ge7fa spinning wrong way

Ge7fa upgrade of everything mk6 to mk6e. Turbine upgrade also. Try to crank and shaft starts turning wrong way then stops and returns to 6 rpm on tg. Anyone seen this or have any ideas? Thanks

I'm NOT an LCI expert by any stretch of the imagination, but if I recall correctly the LCI "catches" the generator rotor whilst it's on turning gear and accelerates it (in the proper direction)--presuming the output of the LCI is properly connected to the generator stator windings. The LCI is essentially just a giant variable frequency drive (and the generator is essentially a giant three-phase "motor" at this point) that starts out at a very low frequency (6 RPM, which for a 60 Hz machine would be 0.1 Hz) and then increases the output frequency to accelerate the shaft to purge speed, firing speed and finally to approximately 95% speed at which time the LCI output to the generator ("motor") stator is disconnected and the generator actually becomes a generator.

It's difficult for me to understand how the LCI output could be misconnected, or even how the LCI control could miscalculate the rotation of the generator ("motor") rotor--but again, I'm NOT a LCI expert.

I'm wondering if the turning gear motor is running backwards (because it was reconnected improperly).?.?.? I don't know how that could actually happen because of the SSS clutch between the turning gear mechanism and the generator rotor.

It's times like this I wish I would have gotten more familiar with the LCI, but, I had my hands FULL with commissioning the turbine control system. Not to mention construction was ALWAYS late and commissioning was ALWAYS squeezed for time (because the start-up date NEVER changes even though construction is late and everyone believes the commissioning personnel can work longer hours and double shifts while the unit is still being built and wired).

Anyway, the work was cool; just wish I'd learnt a little more about the LCI....