Reliance/AutoMAX, PLC-5, ControlLogix

M

Mitch

I'm new to the whole automation thing. What is the ideal application for these systems?
1) Reliance/AutoMAX
2) PLC-5
3) ControlLogix

This is my understanding of it. ControlLogix and PLC-5 can do pretty much the same thing for monitoring I/O and turning on I/O. But ControlLogix has the additional ability to do motion control, where as PLC-5 doesn't. In PLC-5 systems, motion control is done using SLC?

I really can't concisely describe what AutoMAX does. Reliance makes AutoMAX right? It seems like an "AutoMAX rack" has a processor, I/O, and communication cards. But... what does that do for you? It can do stuff like... hold system wide variables?

B

Bob Peterson

I think automax is sold as more of a dcs type system.

Both the SLC and PLC5 have I/O cards for motion control, neither are especially good, but for simple things are OK (although I am not sure the PLC5 motion cards are even sold anymore). Best bet if you need motion control is go with a seperate drive/controller package like the ultra drive from AB and use a communications interface to communicate with it. if its simple enough the I/O interface is adequate.

If you chocis is between PLC5 and Clx, go with Clx. It will likely be around long after the PLC5 enters its dotage, and it supports just about anything the PLC5 could do and much more.

These are not easy questions to answer since you are really asking which is 'best'. In controls, the inevitable answer to such a question is 'it depends'.