Inverter Synchronization

O

Oryan Dallal

I read the post regarding a generator synchronization at http://control.com/thread/1272536595 and I kindly need an answer:

I'm not a HW person but a SW one, and I hold a degree in EE Engineering.

The above post helped me to understand why the voltage difference between the generator and the grid is, in a way, meaningless regarding the current flow in any direction. That is when we talk about synchronous generators, with real motors and stators, and with a real inertia.

But,when we talk about inverters (solar, wind, etc.), and we want to sell the energy our PV systems provide, there is no motor/stator that produces the torque that causes the current to flow from the inverter into the grid, but still current does flow in that direction.

My question is how is this possible, unless there's a voltage difference between the inverter and the grid ( |V_inv| > |V_grid| ) ?
And if there is no voltage difference (synchronization fundamentals), what causes the current to flow into the grid from the inverter?

Please help me to understand this.

Sincerely,
Oryan

Oryan,

I've often had the very same thoughts when considering the differences between inverters and generators. I've done no World Wide Web searching on this topic, and I suspect there is some information available somewhere--possibly from inverter manufacturers. I quite often find that companies wishing to sell me something I can buy from several other companies will detail in their adverts and white papers why their products are different from others--and I will quite often learn a LOT about the products and the industry in general.

Write back when you learn more, hopefully you can share some URLs for interesting and informative sights you find!