Synchronous Generator Voltage

R

Rudy

I am a non-electrical engineer and have hard time understanding some electrical aspects of the generators.

Background: Steam driven turbine, AC, three phase generator.

Excitation current determines the strength of the magnetic field of the coil (along with speed of the rotor). Got it. This magnetic field then induces voltage at the generator terminals. If the generator is not connected to the load (or anything), there is no power flow, but voltage is established with this magnetic field. The voltage will be strictly a function of rotor speed and excitation current (and voltage). Got it.

Connected to the load: When connected to the load, the generator voltage drops with the increasing load. Voltage regulator however will increase (change) excitation current/voltage to maintain constant generator voltage.

Connected to the grid: When connected to the grid, the voltage is set by the system (grid), but the excitation current determines VARS coming in/out of the generator. (I am getting little lost here, but so far so good).

My information from operators is as follows and it may be wrong:

Automatic Voltage Regulator (AVR) controls the generator voltage. Grid transformer lowers the voltage from the grid. Grid transformer has a low-tab changer (terminology?) that can adjust the stepped-down voltage from the grid. BUS is being fed from grid and generator. BUS feeds users. When low-tab-changer is decreased, and thus stepped-down grid voltage decreases, the AVR of the generator will adjust the excitation to 'make-up' for the decreased voltage. The result will be that the BUS will end up at the same voltage as before, but now the generator is 'pushing' more to maintain this voltage. This all happens while the power (MW) is the same coming from the grid and from the generator to the users.

My question: