AVR Not Decreasing Vars

B

boosterkitty

AVR won't decrease MVAR's when pulse is sent. It gets stuck and appears to be trying to move down on the vectormeter. What could be the possible likely causes?

Thanks for any help. I'm not an engineer, just interested in the above situation with our generator.

boosterkitty,

What is the manufacturer/model number of your exciter regulator (AVR)?

What's a vectormeter? (Power factor meter? VAr meter? Dynamic reactive capability curve on an HMI display?)

What kind of prime mover is driving the generator (steam turbine; gas turbine; hydro turbine; reciprocating engine; etc.)? What's the rating of the unit (in MW, I presume)?

Is the system voltage higher or lower than normal (the "grid" or "bus" voltage)?

Some exciter regulators (AVRs) have minimum limits (sometimes called under-excited reactive ampere limiters (URALs)). If the grid voltage the unit is synchronized to is much lower than normal then sometimes the excitation can't be reduced any further depending on the type of limiter. Usually when an exciter regulator (AVR) hits a limit there is some kind of alarm to alert the operator; are there any alarms like URAL?

If the pulse goes to a motor-operated potentiometer is the motor working properly in both directions? Can you increase the MVARs by 10 or so and then reduce them again until they just stop decreasing?

Can you be specific about the MVArs at the time of the problem? What is the magnitude of the MVArs (20, 30, more? Less?) Are they lagging MVArs? Or leading MVArs? (Sometimes lagging MVARs are displayed as positive, and leading MVArs are displayed as negative--if that helps).

Can you tell us what the power factor is when you can reduce the MMVArs--and if it's lagging or leading (the same polarity convention applies to a digital power factor indication).

Does this happen during a unit STOP sequence, or when it's on-line and running normally?

Are there any alarms which might be related to the problem?

B