Today is...
Wednesday, August 23, 2017
Welcome to Control.com, the global online
community of automation professionals.
Featured Video...
Featured Video
A demonstration of EtherCAT control of linear motors using the CTC EtherCAT master.
Our Advertisers
Help keep our servers running...
Patronize our advertisers!
Visit our Post Archive
Windows NT, CLI and STI (NT and real-time)
One of the problem of NT with real-time is that the system uses CLI/STI (CLear Interrupt/SeT Interrupt). Somebody say me that the kernel itself use hard-coded CLI/STI. As the kernel cannot be modified, this definitively prevent hard real-time under NT. Can anybody confirm or invalidate this affirmation?
By Antoine PERRIN on 18 November, 1999 - 9:32 am

(Originally posted Tue 05/26/1998)
Here is the situation:
I am currently studying hard-real time extensions for Windows NT. One of the problem of NT with real-time is that the system uses CLI/STI (CLear Interrupt/SeT Interrupt). In principle, these operations are used only in the HAL and in the drivers... Theorically, by rewriting the HAL and choosing well-written drivers (hard stuff?) you can expect good performances from NT...
Here is my question:
But somebody say me that the kernel itself use hard-coded CLI/STI. As the kernel cannot be modified, this definitively prevent hard real-time under NT.
Can anybody confirm or invalidate this affirmation?
Antoine PERRIN
CJ-international

(Originally posted Wed 05/27/1998)
Why does the existence of sections of non-interruptible code prevent "real time" operation, assuming of course that those pieces of code are small and deterministic?

Mike Granby
Paradigm Controls Limited
http://www.paracon.demon.co.uk