Long Range Wireless Temperature Sensors

S

Stuart

As part of a frost protection scheme on a fruit farm I need to deploy a number (approx 6) of temperature sensors around the farm, the max distance from reciever to transmitter will be approx 700m, Line of site is not always possible. I will have a PC monitoring the sensors and taking the necessary action when the temperature drops. Does anybody have some suggestions on how I might best achieve wireless communication between a thermocouple and my PC?

Thanks

Stuart

Hi Stuart,
Is it really a must to go wireless ?
There are several ways to do this with a simple 2-wire system, either analoque or digital.
Best regards, Henk.
you may contact me at : [email protected]

Hi Stuart,
Since I have little experience with software development, I was planning to design a simple hardware solution for a frost protection system on a fruit farm. I will probably use my earlier designed 4-20mA t/i converter, wich is powered by the two communication wires, at the other end I have this receiver, wich not only converts the current into a suitable voltage, but also feeds the just mentioned transmitter.
I have already tested this system for a distance of 4KM, no problem at all !
Now here is my problem; I need software to control this system by a PC monitoring the sensors and taking the necessary action when the temperature drops.
Is there some way, that I can make use of your software ? If you would go for a hardwired solution, we could exchange now how.
Your answer would be very much awaited.
You can reach me at : [email protected]
Let's share our experiences.
Best regards, Farmer.

M

michael shiloh

Hello Stuart,

My company is developing a line of wireless sensor interface devices and we feel we can help with your project.

A hybrid of custom and off-the-shelf approaches assures that you get a solution that matches your needs, yet does not cost as much as full custom work.

Please contact me off-list if you are interested.