Modbus slave behavior

A

Anonymous

Hi,

I'm new to Modbus, can someone help to answer the question below?

If modbus slave receives the second request before it sends reply for the first request, what will modbus slave do? will it sends two replies (reply1, reply2), or it only sends reply for request 2?

With the Modbus Network, there should be one master, and up to 247 slaves. The master will initiate a query to a slave and wait for a response. If no response from the slave is received within a timout period, the master will abort the current query and get the next message query to transmit.

A master should not transmit another query until it has either received a response from the slave, or the message has timed out. If the slave cannot respond within the timeout period, it should not send a response.

The main thing you should know is that the Modbus master should only issue a second request either after a timeout, or after a response (be it successfully or not). So, it sounds like your master device should up its response timeout.

No telling what the slave device will do, as it all depends on how the slave manufactured coded their Modbus driver, whether it can buffer incoming commands, etc. I would suspect it will choke on the second request.

CH

J

Jerry Miille

Excellent question! Going to be interesting to see the responses to this message.

In theory this should not happen but in the real world, it can, and it does all the time.