Partial gas pressure control

K

Kim K.

I'm a student of bioengineering at the University of California, San Diego, and I've been presented with a problem in the control of the partial pressure of oxygen in a nitrogen-oxygen gas mixture.

The basic structure of the problem is that we're doing trials using anesthetized fruit flies under hypoxic conditions. We have a PPO sensor already installed and communicating with our computer program via a DAQ board; however, as much as our predecessors have tried to automate the process, it remains that someone (usually a hapless undergrad) needs to sit with the machine while it's running and manually adjust the PPO as it drifts off of true--usually pretty rapidly and usually through a range at least a couple of points away from our target value.

We've already begun investigating PID controllers (and theory) under the guidance of our advisor, but to be frank, we're a little in the dark (and a little scared) of all the information we have to process and integrate. We HAVE found some actuated systems used for industrial applications that may be able to do what we need--but either they are too expensive, too large, or both. All we really need is a very small system for a very limited application--so where should we start looking, in terms of companies and manufacturers who might have the required materials?

Thanks so much in advance!

I'd suggest starting with on-off control, for simplicity's sake, rather than PID control

ON-OFF control:
Just like your thermostat at home. If the temperature (process variable or PV) is below the thermostat setting (setpoint or SP), the thermostat "calls for" heat. Once the temperature (PV) increases to match the SP, the thermostat tells the furnace to turn off. The furnace is either full on or full off. The ON-OFF controller is the switch that tells it to turn on or off.