Should we use C/C++ for implementing SCADA

R

rainer

Do we need programming skills for SCADA development?

Some years ago web pages had been build in plain HTML. No real programming skills were needed. But today there are a lot of web pages using the script language PHP. Also JavaScript is used within the browser.

What is the situation in SCADA systems?

Is it flexible enough doing everything graphically without the need of programming skills?

Or would it be better to use standard programming languages. Either Script languages or compiled languages.

Who is creating a SCADA system?
Does he/she have programming skills?

B

Brian E Boothe

I work as a Programmer for a Industrial Automation Company, and do all Our Intranet and website Programming. Also I am Allen Bradley certified in many areas so I do Logix5000 / RSViewSE as well, and I've created many useful utilities for our company in C/C++ / Delphi and Visual Basic.

We do web server Jobs now and again for our Scada using ADS (Active Display), and there again here I am. In my opinion knowing just ladder logic in today's Industries is cutting it way too short in your Company's horizon.

A

Alfredo Espinosa

In my personal opinion, it's absolutely necessary to known at least C/C++ or VB.

Because if not, you only can develop a SCADA system using the basic configuration options. If you need more functionality, it's necessary to program using some language.

Alfredo Espinosa Reza

B

Brian E Boothe

In the company I work for, I have developed a few Printer utilities and a lot of VB & VBA Logging reporting/OPC Software. But as far as strict control, It's a HUGE MAJOR Insurance liability for in-house Code or hardware to run Processes. As far as my boss is concerned, we're not even stepping into that arena, so we charge our customers 20,000 per software SCADA Installs Project RSVIEW, etc.

N

Nathan Boeger