CO2 Sensors

D

Dylan Gordon

Hello,

I'm pretty new to all of this, but at any rate, I'm looking at building a CO2/temperature/humidity logging/management system that will run off of my PC. For anyone who's curious, I grow chillies indoors, and in the quest for the hottest ones I can grow, I've decided it's time to get really technical.

At any rate.. I've found enough information that I think I can figure out how to build a device for logging temperature and humidity, interface it to my PC, and write the software to control the environment based on those factors.

The problem is the CO2 sensor. Is there a cost effective CO2 sensor that I could somehow interface with a PIC device (I have very little idea what I'm talking about, but I'm sure I'll learn)? The ones I've seen are in the hundreds of dollars and generally have displays/alerts/etc. I just want an easy sensor who's output I can monitor along w/ the outputs of the temp. and humidity sensors, and send along to the PC.

Anyone have any suggestions? All thoughts greatly appreciated.

Yrs,

dg

W
DG,

You haven't said where you live, but if it's in the US, and you start buying stuff like this to grow plants indoors, don't be too surprised if
you got a no-knock visit from your friendly local SWAT team. ;^)

Willy Smith
Numatics Inc.
Costa Rica

D

Dylan Gordon

> You haven't said where you live, but if it's in the US, and you start buying stuff like this to grow plants indoors, don't be too surprised if

> you got a no-knock visit from your friendly local SWAT team. ;^)

Yeah, I suppose that would be a bit of an issue. Maybe I should call them first. Hehe. Hmm.. I've never had any problems otherwise, though, so.. Anyway, I could go out and buy a commercial CO2 monitor if I wanted to, but they're over $500, which isn't worth it.

K

Kiel-1, Larry

Hello Mr. Gordan.