AC Servo motor controls

R

Rick B

Hello all,

I am a EE, but I'm new to industrial controls.

I am building a 2 axis flight simulator, and am using AC servo motors. I'm trying to buy the motors and drives as cheaply as possible, so I am looking on Ebay and other surplus sites.

I have bought an emerson MGM-4120-CBNS 5hp AC brushless servo motor with gear reducer down to 60rpm. I have been looking for a drive to work with it, but so far I'm not having any luck. I was told that the Emerson EN-214 will work, but I can't find one surplus. Emerson's site also doesn't seem to have information on a lot of the other drive models I see on Ebay, so it's difficult to determine what will work with this motor.

Is is recommended to use a different brand of drive? I have seen a few others that will handle the horsepower, but are different brands.

Thanks in advance,
Rick

K

Ken Emmons Jr.

If this is the typical permanent magnet servo with hall switch commutation and incremental encoder, you can use just about any drive for brushless motors. Copley controls makes some good drives.

You don't mention the motion controller you are using. If you use something like Galil, Delta Tau, Elmo, you can get a programmable controller and Drive unit in one. Depending on what you are doing this might make sense.

W

William Sturm

Some drives can be configured for other motors, but many cannot. A-B Ultra 100, many Baldor, and Kollmorgen ServoStar can, but it is not easy. The type of feedback is critical, usually encoder or resolver. An analog brushless drive like Copley, AMC, or Glentek might be the easiest, there is less software involved. If you have an encoder with hall channels, the analog drives are fairly straightforward, but you still have phasing and tuning issues.

C

Curt Wuollet