I need a sump control program

C

Clayton Cox

I'm a rookie at this and need help.

I have 3 level floats as inputs and 3 sump pumps as outputs, an AB PLC5 and RSlogix500 software. The control scheme must be lead, lag, lag2 configuration and the pumps should alternate so the same pump does not run every cycle

I have the original relay control diagrams but can't seem to make the transition to PLC ladder logic.

many thanks in advance
coolclay

Hi

Please send me the Existing Relay Logic and will be in a position to help you to generate Ladder logig for PLC.

Best Regards

PP Muthu
Rezayat Trading Company Ltd
Kuwait
E-mail: [email protected]

N
> I'm a rookie at this and need help.

I'm a computer programmer with an interest in manufacturing, hopefully that's the angle that you're missing.

> I have 3 level floats as inputs and 3 sump pumps as outputs, an AB PLC5 and RSlogix500 software. The control scheme must be lead, lag, lag2 configuration and the pumps should alternate so the same pump does not run every cycle
>
> I have the original relay control diagrams but can't seem to make the transition to PLC ladder logic.

I suggest you develop in stages. First, build something really simple that turns on pump 1 for float 1, pump 2 for float 2, etc.

Once you've done that, modify your program to select which pump to use from a list in memory - here's how:

Select three data areas in your PLC, one for 'lead pump' one for 'lag' and one for 'lag 2'. Take your 'float 1' condition and make it branch onto the follow-on conditions, [DLead = Pump1], [DLead = Pump2], [DLead = Pump3]. ('DLead' and 'Pump1' are more likely to be 'D0100' and '1' in practice - make sure you write notes for yourself on what means what).
At the end of each condition, turn on the corresponding pump.

So now you've finished version 2, that selects the pump from a list. Now we have to rotate the pumps through that list.