Java-Ladder Translator / Interpreter

T

Tony Anosike

Hi there, I am a student in the UK and I'm new to PLC programming languages. I'd like to write a translator in Java to translate IF THEN statements to Ladder Diagram. I haven't got a clue where to begin. I'll be grateful if anyone out there could help in any way.

Thanks

Tony

J

James Ingraham

Give up. It would be a lot easier to translate ladder logic into Java, and even that wouldn't be real pleasant. Obviously, you could write Java code that is translatable to ladder, but it is extremely easy to write code that has no ladder equivalent. PLC fans will jump on that comment, but a simple example is Thread.sleep(1000), or perhaps System.out.println("Hello, world!").

Ladder and Java both exist for a reason; some problems are suited to one language or the other. This is similar to math problems that are virtually intractable in Cartesian space but are ridiculously easy in polar coordinates. But Java and Ladder aren't really two ways of looking at the same data; the flow of the two languages is as different as the syntax.

Suck it up and learn ladder; in the end you'll be a better programmer for having learned an alternative way of thinking, even if you never use ladder again.

-James Ingraham
Sage Automation, Inc.

T

Tony Anosike

Hi James,
Thanks for your reply. Maybe I wasn't clear enough in my previous request. I'd like to write a translator to translate control sequences written as a series of IF THEN rules into Ladder Diagram. I have an idea that IF THEN rules can be translated into Ladder Diagram (manually). What I really want to know is how interpreters or translators are written (for automatic translation).

I will appreciate any further help.

Thanks

Tony