S88.01- Batch Controls

N

Namitha

Hi,

I am trying to figure out the principles of S88.01 Standard. I have read ISA book Applying S88 Batch Control From a user perspective written by Jim Parshall and Larry Lamb. Well this book is pretty useful. I have developed DCS software for continuous process control , but unfortunately I have no experience in Batch process using S88.01.

Afte reading the book, the following questions remain unanswered to me. I am sure the experts in this form can help me out:
1) How and where the process cell is implemented. Is it in DCS Controlls or in HMI/SCDA?

2) The process cell has Basic controls, procedural controls and co-ordination controls. As I understand the basic controls (regulatory controls like continous controls) are implementd in DCS controls, procedural controls and co-ordinated controls are implemented in SCADA/HMI. Am I correct?

3) I understand control module is the lowest level physical model. This module resides in SCADA/HMI, instruc a phase logic residing in DCS/PLC to control the device. Am I correct?

Prasanna

In answer to your questions:
The S88 standard is a little "woolly" regarding the Physical Model. This can be interpreted in several ways, this is only my own...

1) Usually the process cell lives in the DCS and is a container for the units of plant equipment typically a folder on the plant hierarchy of your DCS.