Career In Automation Advice

Looking for advice on whether or not to get an engineering degree (Industrial engineering degree).

I'm a scada Developer right now and I don't do any of the hardware side of automation controls, even though I know PLC programming but never did a real projects just simulation projects at home. I have also been an automation tech building PLC panels and wiring.

I want to grow in the automation world but I feel limited because of the position I'm in and my education is in Computer Science and not an engineering degree.

I am able to do a program at my university that I went to to get a Bachelor’s of Science in Industrial Engineering and be done in about 2.5 years. I'm curious if that would be beneficial to move up through automation to get into more senior roles and management. It's focus will be on using auto Cad, project management, and petroleum (fundamentals, drilling, production and pipeline).

If I have to leave the company after the degree to get a different job where I'm doing the entire control engineering process (hardware, PLCs, scada) then that is something I will do.

Any advice is much appreciated, I am a 30 year old with 5 years of work history in the automation world (3 technician, 3 scada overlapped for a little while) in the oil patch looking to grow and increase salary (cost of living is high where I live) to about $150,000 in the next 5 years.