Configure 1747-SN Scanner and 1747-ASB RIO, SCL5/05

C

Chandra Nori

I am new to the aspect of configuring 1747-SN. We have three chassis, one of which has a SLC 5/05 processor (in Slot-0) and a Scanner 1747-SN (Slot-1). A RIO adapter is present in Slot-0 each of the other two chassis. The first chasis with SLC 5/05 has two racks (total 2x10 slots). The second chassis is also has two racks (2x10 slots) and the third Chassis has one rack with a total of 7 slots. using this information how do I configure the scanner? Do I need the Advanced Programming Software? I have downloaded the Manual 174766.pdf but is not helping me. Could anyone help me in this aspect? Thanks.

Y

Yosef Feigenbaum

Hello Chandra,

Before you get started you have to decide how you want to talk to analog modules (and 32 point I/O modules) in the remote racks.

You've got 2 choices:
a) Block Transfer
b) Discrete transfer

Next, you have to decide (based on module placement) how you plan on addressing the remote racks.

A typical configuration would be to access the 1st 20 slots as rack 0, rack 1, and the 1st 1/2 of rack 2. The 2nd rack could be addressed as either the continuation of rack 2 or rack 3. There are lots of combinations based on module type etc.

Once you've got your rack layout in place it's mostly a matter of setting DIP switches.

Oh yea, you should get RSLogix 500. Don't use APS. It's obsolete and may not support your processor or all of the modules you may want to use.

If you've got any questions please feel free to contact me.

Good Luck,

(8{)} ( .)
[email protected]

B

Bradley Hite

Hello,

Short answer: "RTFM"
Applicable manuals:
174766.pdf -- 1747-SN Remote IO scanner manual
1747613.pdf -- 1747-ASB Remote IO Adapter manual
1747-um011c-en-p.pdf -- SLC-500 Modular hardware manual

Long answer: