MTBF

A

Ana

Dear all,

My name is Ana and I am a young Engineer.

Is there any known formula/method to calculate MTBF (Mean time between failure) value for unit?

Greatly appreciated.

R

Ranjan Acharya

Here is what I have learned about MTBF over the years, perhaps someone with a better statistical background could fill in the blanks or explain it a lot better, as well as correct any mistakes. In general, everyone tells me that MTBF is typically mis-used and mis-understood.

I know that in some circumstances, the customer has just asked me to take the total time since start up, subtract the amount of time in a fault condition and then divide the result by the number of faults and call this number MTBF. I have a feeling that this is not really MTBF.

From data checks of my own in the past, however, I have discovered the
following: