Profibus and Lonwork

J

Jose Calzadilla

May someone tell me where can i find a comprenhensive comparison between Profibus and Lonwork Networks? including profibus and lontalk protocol.

I'm working on a selection of the most reliable protocol and network to use in a fielbus enviroment substation.

Thanks in advance...

Jose Calzadilla

F
I am not sure you can find a good side by side comparison of LonWorks vs Profibus. As a side note I would be cautious of anyone who does try to give you a comparison. Someone might have experience in one or the other but usually not both. Just as I have a lot of experience in LonWorks, I would never try to give you a comparison since I haven't worked with Profibus. You need to understand the bias of the individual or company that is providing you with information.

You can find an overview of LonWorks on my Website (shown below). You will likely see some who will proclaim that LonWorks isn't suited for industrial applications but that is a false statement. I have worked with and seen many industrial applications using LonWorks. Granted, Echelon as a company focuses its attention on building automation and home automation as markets but that does not preclude its use in industrial applications. The one area of industrial controls where LonWorks falls short is in the very fast response times or where a message must be delivered in repeatedly in a fixed amount of time.

Some examples of actual industrial applications can be found at Echelon's website - http://www.echelon.com/solutions/industrial/segments.htm

If you have specific questions about LonWorks, feel free to email me and I'll do my best to answer.

Regards,

Fred Graham
Graham Controls Consulting
http://www.grahamcontrols.com

I know of no direct comparison between Profibus and LONtalk protocols. Both are standards for different markets. Look at http://www.profibus.org and
http://www.echelon.com.