Honeywell UDC2800 Modbus RTU + Python

Hello,

I was wondering if there were any people who could guide me through the steps that would be required to configure a Honeywell UDC2800 to enable Modbus RTU. Any steps would be helpful, I have read through the documentation online but I am really just looking for the minimal steps required to be able to establish the connection.

Also I was wondering if anyone knew if it would be possible to establish a connection using python + a python module to connect to the UDC2800's Modbus server and if it is even possible to set up the connection for a proof of concept by directly plugging the UDC2800 into my laptop's ethernet cord as I don't have any ethernet or networks that I could connect the UDC2800 to as of the initial setup of this POC.

Thanks! (Sorry if this is alot of information to request I am a second year student on an internship)

Yes, I can help you from the UDC2800 side, but I don't know one end of snake from the other, so you'd be on your own for Python coding.

But I need to make sure that the magic of Modbus will actually move you toward your goal, because I have encountered numerous situations where invoking the magic of Modbus was supposed to solve problems that were outside the realm of a UDC 2800's PID control functions, in essence a pipe dream, not a reality.

So please write out, in English, your process narrative, that is, what you expect the the process has (what it has for input, what it has for final control element and what drives it) and what the process is and how the UDC2800 is managing the control and then how Modbus is supposed to be involved in the process, as opposed to stand-alone loop control. What value is Modbus adding?