The Physics of... Interconnecting Power Systems

This thread is devoid of all speculation, conjecture, theory, guessing, bluffing, etc, that we have seen lately. All, including PtPs, are invited to participate:

Two 100MW, 60Hz power plants, a 1/2 mile apart, are to be interconnected in a substation located midway between them via an SF6 circuit breaker. But, they were previously connected together by another circuitous route some 100 miles long. The questions, should you decide to take on the task, are:

1) Would you close the breaker!

2) If yes, why?

3) If no, why not?

Regards, Phil Corso

>1) Would you close the breaker!
>
>2) If yes, why?
>
>3) If no, why not?
>
>Regards, Phil Corso

I am not sure how to picture this in one line diagram and I am an operator. I assume that there are no generator breakers and both generators are synchronized via a breaker in GIS to the grid. If that is the case I think you can close the breakers if you match the voltage, phase angle and frequency either side of the open GIS breaker. Generator voltage has be higher then line(grid) voltage. waiting for all interesting inputs, thanks Phil for starting this thread.

Sardar9... good start. Reur attempt to "picture" the situation, imagine a 100 mile loop, which is "open" at the substation between the two plants.

Here is hint No. 1, "A wave of any frequency is still a wave!"

Phil

N

Namatimangan08

I minimize voltage difference then I just close it. Synchronizing is not required since their sin waves are already in phase.

B

Bob Peterson

I minimize voltage difference then I just close it. Synchronizing is not
required since their sin waves are already in phase.

HUH?

S
> But, they were previously connected together by another circuitous route some 100 miles long.

I am not sure about the above sentence, they were or they have been? if that is the case, I will not close the breaker because its paralleled through other breaker.

it will increase the fault current to double!

Sunil